Depending on which state you’re in, your DWI conviction will likely remain on your record for up to 15 years. But some states do not have any washout periods at all, and your conviction will stay on your record forever. These states use different methods to calculate washout periods, and some even have separate periods for first offenses and second offenses. In other words, you will never get your license back if you get a DUI.
The longer the washout period is, the longer a DUI stays on your record. In most states, a prior DUI stays on your record for three to five years. In California, it stays on your record for 10 years, but you’ll receive two points for thirteen years. In Colorado, you can expect to have your driving record marked for ten years and have it wiped off after two years.
In Maryland, a DUI conviction stays on your record for five years. In Massachusetts, it stays on your record for ten years. In Michigan, a DUI conviction will remain on your driving record for seven years. In Connecticut, a DWI conviction will stay on your record for ten years. In Minnesota, your driving record will be marked for a decade. However, there is no points system. So it’s best to avoid drinking and driving and focus on avoiding any kind of drunken situations.
In New Mexico, a DWI conviction will remain on your driving record for ten years. In Georgia, DUI convictions will remain on your driving record for two years. In Hawaii, a DUI conviction will stay on your record for five years. In Idaho, a DUI will remain on your driving history for life. In addition to the penalties, you may have your license suspended for 90 to 180 days.
In New York, a DWI conviction will stay on your driving record for at least five years. Some states will allow for an additional year after a refusal. In New York, a DWI conviction is permanent on your driver’s abstract. In other words, it’s permanent on your driving record. It’s important to keep in mind that your driving record can negatively impact your future.
In some states, DUIs stay on your driving record for three to five years. In California, they are kept on your driving record for 10 years. In Indiana, a DWI is assessed eight points to your driving record. In Kansas, an infraction will have no impact on your insurance rates. This is because both states’ point systems affect the amount of points you can have. The penalty for a DUI is different in each state, so you will have to check your car insurance company to find out what your options are.